A Poem for Miss Havisham

Miss Havisham, her gown is indescribably beautiful  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

‘The mice have gnawed at it, and sharper teeth than teeth of mice have gnawed at me.”

I’ve recently taken to re-reading Dickens’ classic Great Expectations, and have become enamored all over again with the character Miss Havisham, her decaying house, and all of the tragic circumstances that have come to pass in her life. Though she’s  incredibly cruel, you can’t help feeling fascinated by the extreme to which she has taken her abandonment. Also, there’s  a melancholy beauty in seeing all that she has preserved decay along with her. This poem is inspired by her very character.

“Chewing”

 

An old wedding dress lay

In a rotting disarray

Within a mahogany chest

I spotted it there

Sewn with elegant flare

As the moths chewed at the rest

 

I picked it up then

And thought with a grin

How happy that it should rot

The yellowing décolletage

Was full of my sabotage

As my tears fell down with the lot

 

My thoughts began to fray

For the dress seemed to say

You could have been so blest

I then laughed with glee

And let the moths chew at me

As I ripped, and tore at the rest

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

